Reflecting on the Fall Semester and Looking Forward

The MEngM program has definitely provided the knowledge and experiences that I had anticipated when I accepted the program offer. During the past semester we became more familiar with different manufacturing processes and systems optimizations, product design tools, as well as managerial and business development strategies. I anticipate that next semester will complete this academic endeavor and prepare us for possible industrial experience.

During MIT’s Independent Activities Period (IAP) in January, I began working at Daktari Diagnostics for the industry project component of the MEngM program. I chose Daktari for two primary reasons: the stage of business growth and the breadth of opportunities within product development and manufacturing. 

 I get to work closely with the top-level management, namely VPs and the CEO. This affords greater opportunities to see the growth of the company from a business perspective, as well as the product design decisions made through every stage.

Since the company is still relatively small and in the so-called “start-up” stage, I get to work closely with the top-level management, namely VPs and the CEO. This affords greater opportunities to see the growth of the company from a business perspective, as well as the product design decisions made through every stage. With this knowledge and combined greater responsibility, my work will directly influence both short-term work for my thesis, in addition to long-term next-generation product lines. IAP has been a great opportunity to familiarize myself with both the technological background of the company and the product development processes used at the company. With this background knowledge, I will go into the spring semester with a more focused approach on what I want to take out of my educational experience in order to fully complete the required thesis, as well as for my future. The mindset at both work and MIT is similar — we are researching many of the same concepts that were originally introduced in the classrooms of MIT.
Leave a Reply

